Musical Mentions: What Happened to Marianas Trench?

2011_MuchMusic_Video_Awards_-_Marianas_Trench

Disclaimer: I am not the greatest authority on music. I am not even too keen on the jargon. Hence, I apologize for the simple wording and stress that these are just my two cents. Carry on.

Skrillex lost a fan that day. (source: 305.com)

Skrillex lost a fan that day. (source: 305.com)

An ex of mine and I are talking again. One day, he told me to listen to Marianas Trench’s latest album Ever After.  At first, I didn’t want to listen to it because he had discovered the band when we were still together and some musical pieces were now a sore spot for me (I’m looking at you, Skrillex).But it has been two years since the break up, so I quickly got over my caution and decided to have a listen.

As Aubrey would say, "aca-fantastic!" (source: pitch-perfect-wikia.com)

As Aubrey would say, “aca-fantastic!” (source: pitch-perfect-wikia.com)

He and I had loved their previous album, Masterpiece Theatre.If you can only remember one thing about this rock band and that album, it would be their flawless acapellas. I could have listened to them for days. Their guitar work was admirable as well but those acapellas?Truly memorable. So, I hoped they would have continued with that in Ever After.

No. Not so much.

Like Masterpiece Theatre, Ever After is a concept album. It tells about a man named Josh Ramsay who ends up in Toyland and has a fantastical adventure, equipped with royal tyranny, toy soldiers and a damsel in distress. I am usually a sucker for fantasies such as these. I can’t help it: I’m a Disney kid. So, I should have been at least intrigued.

I know, I know. This is the part where you boo me.

I know, I know. This is the part where you boo me.

Sadly, no such luck. As far as the story line of the songs, I felt some obscurity. Call me daft—the meanings were just not clear for me. The music videos helped me get a sense of what the band was trying to portray but I like to think the songs are more important for a concept album. Hence, the quality of the songs was top-notch but as far as it being a concept album, it fell a little flat.

My ex did warn me that their album was different from the others. I got the sense that the band decided to mix it up a bit—change their styles. Did it work? For the most part, yes. The songs were upbeat and catchy. I can see myself humming Haven’t Had Enough or Stutter on my way to work. But were they memorable?  Were the songs *playlist-able? Not really. Not for me.

This is not the end, guys. (source: gigcity.ca)

This is not the end, guys. (source: gigcity.ca)

This is not to say that I won’t continue to root for this band. Masterpiece Theatre has given me enough hope that they will reach that standard once again. Besides, they’re not the first band to experiment. I can’t fault them for being diverse.

But sometimes, it’s better to stick with what works.

 

SIDENOTE: The Cosmopolite Wannabe’s Glossary

Playlist-able: a song that you will still enjoy even after years since its release. Classics. Timeless.  Frank Sinatra’s albums, for instance.

Give me your feedback! XD

