Musical Mentions: Song of the Week (Dec. 14-20, 2014)

musical mention headerHello music lovers,

Sigur Rós- Sæglópur

This track runs through my head probably once every week since I heard it back in 2009. I couldn’t get enough of it and I still listen to it on my player when my world feels the urge to crash now and again. The beginning of the song is best part. Soft, sweet and cute–reminding you of the time when you actually believed in Santa and the Tooth Fairy; when you thought everything was going to be okay.

When the song progresses into a more intense beat, the rainbow happiness you feel becomes otherworldly…but I’m gushing. Listen to the song and see for yourself.

You didn’t catch the lyrics? It’s fine. The lead singer of the band, Jonsi, created a language for their songs. Depending upon your character that could be weirdly stupid or weirdly cool. For me, the band could be singing a grocery list, as long as they keep the instrumentals.

Go listen to their albums. Hate them or love them, I guarantee you won’t forget them.

Give me your feedback! XD

