Future Traveler- Bran Castle, Translyvania

futuretraveler

Oh look! My first travel post.

It only took….four months.

Hey, to be honest, this segment has been a constant work in progress. But I’m digressing.

Welcome to The Short-list!

Bran Castle (aka Dracula’s Castle)

Bran Castle, Romania

Bran Castle, Romania

If anyone knew me for at least half a day, they would know that touring Bran Castle would be one of my ultimate fangirl fantasies. I have always been intrigued by the world of vampires before Twilight made it into a cheap Hollywood trick. I grew up with the Bran Stoker fiction, fell in love with Anne Rice’s Lestat and Louise and had mad respect for Van Helsing (both the old men and Hugh Jackman versions). And, of course, I have watched most of the remakes of Dracula.

I am so in love with vampire lore, I even watched (and re-watched, the fangirl is strong within me) documentaries on Vlad the Impaler. Even though I know he was downright batshit nuts (see: Davinci’s Demons), I cannot help but be in awe (also in disgust since I am not a psychopath) of the extent of his violence and sadism.

I also tracked down his last living descendant. He’s over 50 and was really adopted into the family by his foster mother who died….in the 80s I think?

DON'T JUDGE ME!

Don’t judge me.

You don't find this spooky? You're an automaton.

You don’t find this spooky? You’re an automaton.

Like all Gothic Dracula movies, Bran Castle sits on a hilltop overlooking a peaceful village. In the day, it can look like a regular Disney princess castle. But at night? When Bram Stoker came up with Dracula, I bet my soon-to-be-in-my-possession Batman leggings that he was inspired by that night-time nightmare.

If the scenery doesn’t spook you, the dungeons in the castle might. There was a reason Dracula has been portrayed in many versions as a villain. Heck, there was a reason Vlad earned the title ‘the Impaler’. The story of Dracula and Vlad are not as romantic as Hollywood wants you to think. Not in the slightest.

By the way, Bran Castle is on sale, rich people. Rich people who love Dracula and are intrigued by the Vald the Impaler stories. Just putting that out there.

My never-ending love for vampires has me itching to visit this place! Come with me?

Give me your feedback! XD

