TV Hotspot- Characters of the Week (Feb. 15-Feb. 21, 2015)

 

Characters of the Week

Hello again, TV addicts.

You may have noticed that I don’t have a midweek madness post for last week. I am beginning to realize that there are some days the madness is just absent. But we still have characters of the week who earned my titles. So, let’s get to it.

SPOILER ALERT: Click HERE for the list of shows I watch before you spoil your TV appetite.

Hero of the Week: Ophelia (How to Get Away With Murder)

Cicely Tyson owned TGIT last week! No one can tell me otherwise. As Annalise’s mother, she was a powerhouse from the moment she walked through the door. Her VIP comment made fans realize she would forever be in our hearts. The rape discussion was heavy but real. You can’t be an awesome show if you’re not alluding to some social commentary. And the way Ophelia described how she put her lying rapist of a brother in his place had me nodding in female solidarity. “Sometimes you’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do, even if all you have is a long match and a very flammable hooch.” YES, Ms. Ophelia! So much yes. You are going to die happy knowing in the end, you did it for the love of your child.

I'm here for you, Mama!

I’m here for you, Mama!

Villain of the Week: The Joker Jerome (Gotham)

A man who kills his mother is twisted as hell. We saw that from American Horror Story this past season. So when Jerome got into the interrogation room and Jim accused him of murdering his mother, I’m pretty sure we were all shaking our heads in shame….until he started to laugh maniacally. Until he started to laugh like someone we were all too familiar with.

0_0 Is this who I think it is??

0_0 Is this who I think it is??

I need to stop watching my shows on the bus. Because when I let out my tiny fangirl squeals, I freak the passengers out. Oh, Gotham. You warmed my soul with that fantastic scene. Seeing my favourite Batman villain instill fear into the hearts of Jim and Lee with that maniacal laugh was EVERYTHING. Thank you.

Underdog of the Week: Fish Mooney (Gotham)

No matter how nasty Fish gets, I still like her. I mean, ultimately, I want her to fail but in the meantime, let her have her moment. Like when she took control of the prison and found a way for her voice to be heard. It was a bloody, cruel method. Someone just had to die.  But you know those politicians who look at the bigger picture and have to kill at least five people to get to it? Yep. That’s her. So although she’s helping out her fellow man, some people need to be sacrificed.

Sorry! No shits will be given today.

Sorry! No f*&%s will be given today.

Creep of the Week: Crazy Eyes Huck (Scandal)

I’m recycling him from last week’s episode since I didn’t get a chance to talk about it. Even with this week’s episode, Huck’s crazy is still a popular topic. I mean, who can forget those eyes? Don’t get me wrong, I have seen his usual crazy but this just bordered on psychotic. When Liv is away, the Hispanic chainsaw killer comes out to play with us mere mortals.

Dis crazy mofo...!

This is the last look you will see before you die.

Village Idiot: Andrew Nichols (Scandal)

Oh, Andrew. Didn’t anyone ever tell you not to play with a first lady? How do you think she and her husband got there? By smiling pretty? Come on. Your penis activities are the least of her problems and she made sure to show it. Connections, baby. Oh and a republican member who knows a killer since her back was skinned by said killer and now she’s bound to him like a little puppy. The Lizzie Bear moniker has never seemed so appropriate. Because of his ridiculous behaviour, Andrew is now completely helpless and silent. Andrew, you should have married. Now you have no one. Lizzie Bear has abandoned you and President Mellie doesn’t know you like that.

We Jamaicans have a word for this kind of comeback. It’s called. ‘ABEY!’ Look, you learnt something new.

"You brought this on yourself." HA! OH NOOO!

“You brought this on yourself.” ABEY!

SIDENOTE:  Two VPs are now gone. If the public isn’t asking questions about Fitz’s administration in the next episode, I am going to deem this show unrealistic.

Weekly Twist: This is a new aspect to the Characters of the Week post. I must commend the Vampire Diaries’ writers for bringing in the mother of the Salvatore brothers. Ridiculously unsuspecting. Respect.


Contenders:

Heroes of the Week: Damon Salvatore (The Vampire Diaries) and Richard Castle (Castle). Damon stole the VD episode with that heartfelt eulogy. I almost felt like crying after. Especially since I know someone who has lost their mother…yeah. Heavy. As for Castle, well, his new name is now Rambo. I will never forget the way he kicked down 3XK’s door. All of a sudden, Ludacris’ ‘Move Bitch’ song resonated in my head. It was awesome.

Villains of the Week: 3XK (Castle), Katrina (Sleepy Hollow). Oh, these villains tried but no one outside of the DC Universe compares to the Joker. Especially since Katrina is such a neonate when it comes to villainy. Bow down to the Joker, bitches. You are not worthy.

 

Give me your feedback! XD

