Future Traveler-I Want to Buy an Island! (The Maldives)

futuretraveler

Hey travelers!

A colleague of mine asked me if my long-term dreams consist of buying an island. I told him that if I suddenly won the lottery and/or found a rich man then I’m sure buying an island would be on my to do list. Ain’t nothing wrong with a little dreaming.

fantasygif

He then asked where and without hesitation I said the Maldives. Yes, I admit, I thought about owning an island one day. It’s all Johnny Depp’s fault, really. He got an island now I want one too.

The Maldives 

*points to each* I want that one, that one, that one and that one. Thank you, lottery!

*points to each* I want that one, that one, that one and that one. Thank you, lottery!

I first heard about the Maldives in high school during geography class. My teacher was discussing global warming and sea levels rising and she used the Maldives islands as an example. Once I got over their beauty (which took all of an hour), I finally remembered they had a sea level problem and re-focused on the lesson.

They are the kind of islands I don’t want to just visit, but to live. Maybe for retirement with my partner and our cat and dog. *drifts off in the daydream*

With out little thatch and daub hut outside when we want to bask in the silence.

With out little thatch and daub hut outside when we want to bask in the silence.

I’m an introvert so this pans out really nicely for me. Silence and solitude. Two of my very favourite things. The nights there are also very magical, no matter which island you go to. Like the Vaadhoo island, where the tide glows blue during the night. Glowing blue tide, I kid you not. Harry Potter magic has nothing on the Maldives!

So cool, so cool, so cool! ^_^

So cool, so cool, so cool! ^_^

But for now, I’ll just visit the inhabitable islands and scope out the area. Since the country has over 1000 islands, I’m pretty sure there must be some on sale. Owning an island….Johnny Depp, we can talk island maintenance some time soon. It’ll probably be when you’re near 70 but I won’t mind.

Besides, he will always look like this in my eyes. :)

Besides, he will always look like this in my eyes. 

If you’ve been to Maldives, tell me how it is! And if you haven’t considered taking the trip, consider it now.

Give me your feedback! XD

