Movie Moments-I Watched Focus and Will Smith Still Has It.

moviemoments

Movie buffs! Where are you guys?

Have you seen Focus starring Will Smith? I’ve been reading mixed reviews but I’m a skeptic of critics. I firmly believe that if you want to know if a show is good, you watch it yourself. Except for the live action movie for Avatar:The Last Airbender. No, no. That one had to be missed. But I digress. Let me give you a brief review for Focus.

focus-poster.png.pagespeed.ce.o9XBGGCHzeZo9KtsDUCD

Focus starring Will Smith and Margot Robbie

I am going to be honest and say that I did not expect this movie to be so good! I wanted to watch Kingsman but it was sold out and I didn’t want to waste my Tuesdays so I grudgingly bought tickets for Focus. Hey, I had friends and maybe it wouldn’t be too unbearable?

My reservation stems from the After Earth and I am Legend movies. More After Earth than anything. I only watched five minutes but according to my friends, Will Smith’s scenes were good. But…eh…he let me down by even allowing his son to produce that movie so excuse me for feeling like his next pet project was going to be a failure.

No. NOPE. No failures around here.

tumblr_mljyzod6hu1snigu8o1_500

I loved it! What an eye-opener to the greedy, dark world of con artists. Once Will Smith (I call him by his name in every movie. He’s too huge a star for me to remember his character’s name) explained the game to his little blonde sexy apprentice, my paranoia increased to fifty percent. I checked to ensure that my money was with me a couple of times during the movie.

The way those people robbed? It was a freaking art form! They pillaged their way through the sugar bowl, Mardi Gras, every public/crowded event.

I don’t exactly remember the intricacies but by the end of the movie, you had to believe the techniques made sense. If you still didn’t believe, stay a while for the credits: the writers hired an actual con artist expert. So you must know, by then, its all real. Think about that for a moment. Are you going to this year’s Mardi Gras? No. I didn’t think so.

post-32278-doctor-who-OH-NO-YES-NO-gif-Im-ilAR

There were other times when I was holding my breath because the scene was too intense. I mean, the way this movie evoked the feeels. No, man. It was rough.

11025668_947402488604698_8226542108147874139_n

Then there was this:

WHOOO! Yep, Will still got those pecs! Bless, Jada.

WHOOO! Yep, Will still got those pecs! Bless, Jada.

And the movie suddenly won a lot of points. I need my husband to look like that when he’s Will Smith’s age. The ‘marriage gut’, where the stomach extends to the tip of his shoes, will not work out for me.

My first movie review lacks comments on technique and characterization, I know, I know. But the twists and plot intrigue distracted me. I couldn’t give you one wrong thing right now. Not one. Maybe I have to watch the movie over. Or maybe it’s Will Smith’s lovely pectorals. I don’t know.

Go watch the movie. See what you make of it.

Give me your feedback! XD

