TV Hotspot’s Characters of the Week (March 1-March 7, 2015)

Characters of the Week

Happy Sunday, TV addicts.

Let’s have a moment for silence for the imminent cancellation of Constantine. It’s sad that a DC show didn’t make it. I wasn’t too pleased when it debuted on NBC. Apart from the CW, comic book characters rarely fare well on network television. I believe the CW should have grabbed Constantine and have all the DC shows in a nice bundle for fans. Anyway, let’s get back to the characters of shows still thriving. Remember, if you have a different set of choices, feel free to comment.

SPOILER ALERT: Click HERE for the list of shows I watch before you spoil your TV appetite

Heroes of the Week: Rick’s Team (The Walking Dead)

I have renamed the gang ‘The team that gives no f*&$s’, because after that episode, I felt it was quite appropriate. Why are they the heroes? This team, which has been in several different kinds of hell, are the only hope for the people living in that insulated community. The mayor knows it and her idiot son will find this out soon. And who can forget that last line by Rick? The team will make it work and if the people of Alexandria can’t comply, then:

tumblr_nkvczum5jn1ru34cuo1_250

“We’ll just take this place.”

Well. Damn skippy? I totally understand Rick’s idea, though. It’s been a long, long time since the Prison. The team needs a break. And I don’t know these privileged, safe people like I know the team. I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one waving the sign #TeamRick.

Villains of the Week: Eleanor and Antoine Levesque (The Musketeers); The Darren Wilson Look-a-like (Scandal)

The episode of the Musketeers touched on human trafficking in the 1700s. It made me squirm in my seat because well, its human trafficking. This will forever be a serious global issue. So, of course, I’m going to call out these monsters for what they were doing. Porthos’ father was a liar but his daughter and her husband are sick sons of bitches. Three centuries later, we’re seeing a Ferguson remake on Scandal, where a white policeman gets his due for killing a 17 year old black teenager. The allusion to Ferguson and the white officer’s strong resemblance to Darren Wilson had struck the feels deep, man.

At one point, even Olivia couldn't handle it, man.

At one point, even Olivia couldn’t handle it.

Underdogs of the Week: The S.H.I.E.L.D. Team (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.)

Did anyone figure out that plan? I sure as hell didn’t. I think my brain short-circuited when I saw Lance Hunter working for Hydra. I mean, I know it was a pretense but man, for a moment I had my hands in the air, shouting, “Another one?!” Then, I saw Agent May get up and felt better. My brain was no longer in panic mode. The strategy they used to take down Hydra was brilliant. I love that Coulson pushes our expectations for the team to greater heights.

Yeah! Team S.H.I.E.L.D.

Yeah! Team S.H.I.E.L.D.

Creep of the Week: Mariam Loeb (Gotham)

She was one of the highlights from my midweek madness post. Her messed up mentality was tragic and creepy at the same time. She’s the kind of psycho only comic villains are made of so I wouldn’t be surprised if she returns to the show in some way. (Oswald’s beau? I see it). Especially since Jim is going to keep mum about who she is to the authorities.

"I love birds!" *shakes head* So crazy.

“I love birds!” *shakes head* So crazy.

Village Idiot: Harvey Specter (Suits)

From hero to idiot, oh has the great Harvey Specter fallen. He’s a hot shot in the courtroom but give him woman problems and he becomes clueless. First off, Mr. Specter, why not Donna? She is everything. I don’t know if I mentioned this before but I have a slight girl crush on her. Donna knows everything about him, more than he knows himself. And the way he defended her until the end shows how much he cares for her. So what seems to be the problem? Make the Donna loving happen, Harvey, and stop wasting our times!

Ack! FIX this, Harvey!

Ack! FIX this.

Hottie of the Week: Rick Grimes (The Walking Dead)

All my female fans of the Walking Dead, please stand up. When Rick shaved and showered, were you as shocked as I was? As shocked as the mayor and as the potential boo he has? I forgot Rick was a handsome fella. He’s been rocking a beard for at least three seasons. To see him all clean shaven was a nice change. And very easy on the eyes. Here’s a picture in case you forgot (but how could you forget?)

Hey! Season one, Rick!

Hey! Season one, Rick!

By the way, how did I not realize he was the guy from Love, Actually suffering from unrequited love? Years. Changes.


Contenders:

Hero of the Week: Billy (Black Sails). I considered him for this spot because of his unswerving loyalty to Flint. After all that was done to him, after all he was offered, he wants the best for all the pirates, not just nine. Honesty among thieves. For all we know, this loyalty could be misguided and earn him serious punishment from the crew but for now, Billy is back to being Flint’s trusted man.

Have a great TV week, addicts.

Give me your feedback! XD

