2015 Reading Challenge-Once You Go White…(Milk In My Coffee)

bibliophilia

Hey book lovers.

Challenge: A Book By An Author You have Never Read Before.

When I took up this particular challenge, I immediately went for the Eric Jerome Dickey novel: Milk in My Coffee. I had never read Dickey’s work but I heard great things about him, which makes sense. Black literature is forever everything.

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW: What can I say? I like you enough.

Book: Milk in My Coffee

Synopsis:

339697

Jordan Greene moves from the deep south to New York City, and finds more than he ever bargained for. When he shares a ride with a vivacious young white girl, a romance grow between the unlikely pair–much to the chagrin of Jordan’s friends and family. Love on the other side of the color bar forces him to examine his own values and makes him stand up against what everyone expects him to do. In this brightly entertaining and emotionally complex novel, Dickey again demonstrates why he is one of the hottest voices in African-American fiction today

-Goodreads.com

Review:

Once You Go White Milk in My Coffee centered on the subject of interracial coupling. I know that in America, interracial coupling was once highly frowned up in prominent black communities. The mentality has not been so rampant for this generation but the displeasure on a young, black woman’s face when she sees a ‘brother’ with a white woman is enough to tell you the mentality still exists. Was anyone on Tiger Wood’s side when his white wife slammed him with divorce papers and a huge settlement before he could defend himself? I don’t think so.

"Oh! A black woman not good enough for you? GTFO."

“Oh! A black woman not good enough for you? GTFO.”

It is more acceptable for a black woman to be with a white man. It’s fine, as female logic dictates, she just wants someone who can take care of her and white men are capable of doing that. Not like these no-good black men. How’s that for double standard?

It not only exists in America. She jokes about it but I doubt my mother would mind if I carried a white man home for her to meet. Jamaican women believe that white/light skinned men are quite a catch. But should a black man marry a white woman, oh you’re going to hear the black women talk. Especially if the marriage goes bad. The old mamas will shake their heads and say he shouldn’t have married a white woman in the first place.

A representation of every old Jamaican grannie.

A representation of every old Jamaican woman.

Personally, I don’t sign up to that kind of discrimination. Although I’m more attracted to black men, colour doesn’t really matter to me. I love both Benedict Cumberbatch and Idris Elba and those celebrities are as black and as white as it gets.

They are also British. Hey, boys.

They are also British. Hey, boys.

Low Point: In the book, Eric Jerome Dickey plays with the juxtaposition of the stable, white (and in my honest opinion, saner) Kimberly to the emotionally exhausting, black (cray cray) J’nette. The black feminist in me would probably say that Dickey’s portrayal of J’nette plays on the stereotype of the ‘forever angry black woman’, which vilifies her character. Then, I would continue to rant on the historical portrayals of the ‘wild’ black woman as a foil to the ‘innocent’ white woman. I have to admit, part of me wondered if her craziness was needed. Why did J’nette have to be the bad guy?

In other words, this is not an excuse for you to be with a white girl.

In other words, ^this is not an excuse for you to be with a white girl.

High Point: Nevertheless, Jordan feels pressure from his family and friends because of his dating preferences.  At one point, he felt like he was letting down Malcolm X himself.  Mum’s the word but toward the end some juicy twists occur that make him realize it all came down to who he loved; not the colour of the person’s skin. Silly Jordan, you should have taken a page from the rich black guy in White Chicks. You think he gave a crap about what black women thought?

n510eb5fce740b

A novel worthy of its title and its age, playing on social commentary that still exists. Substantial and at times, pretty deep. If you haven’t read this book, go read it now. The popular black literature: Milk in My Coffee.

Rating: 8/10

Click HERE to learn more about my 2015 reading challenge.

One response to “2015 Reading Challenge-Once You Go White…(Milk In My Coffee)

  1. These gifs are hilarious though :D. My sometimes feminist flag went up in the portrayal of J’nette…the stereotype is alive and well and its annoying to see it sometimes in literature. I think I may have to re-read this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Give me your feedback! XD

