Future Traveler-How Ong Bak Inspired Me to Travel to Bangkok

futuretraveler

Hey travellers,

Sometimes movies and travelling go hand in hand. I bet you would have never wanted to visit a French vineyard until you saw the movie French Kiss. I bet you wouldn’t even think of visiting the British navy or finding MI6 if you didn’t watch at least one James Bond movie. Heck, because of Only You, I must to do a European tour. So, could you blame little old me for watching the Ong Bak series and wanting to visit Thailand?

SPOILERS?-A little bit from the movie but it’s not much. I promise.

source: wikipedia

Ong Bak: Muay Thai Warrior is based on a village man named Ting’s mission to retrieve the head of the Buddhist statue with the eponymous name. But I fell in love with Ong Bak from the moment Ting entertained us with that epic kick, which knocked his opponent flat out cold. It was then that I stood up straighter in my seat and really began to watch the movie.

I like to make a 'whoosh' noise whenever I see it.

I like to make a ‘whoosh’ sound whenever I see it.

Apart from the amazing fight scenes (Tony Jaa is just…), Ong Bak captured Bangkok, Thailand at its worst and at its most beautiful. The movie also paid homage to Buddhism and the Thais dedication to their religion. Ting didn’t hesitate to leave his village and retrieve the head of their Buddhist god. It’s an admirable trait (and Tony Jaa is just…)

GREATNESS!

Here he is again in the second movie: GREATNESS!

So now I want to visit Bangkok. Yes, one movie made me into a potential Bangkok tourist.  Thailand tourism should milk that franchise dry.

After seeing this sunset, who wouldn't want to visit?

Bangkok, Thailand: After seeing this sunset, who wouldn’t want to visit?

The first thing I would love to see in Bangkok are the temples. Now, I’m no Buddhist but when it comes to learning new things, I become a lot like Dora, the Expolorer. And although I have a Christianity background, it doesn’t hurt to learn about new religions. I have always had an interest in the religion and philosophy of Buddhism. Besides, those temples are so beautifully done, I’d definitely want to worship there.

Wat Phra Kaew, said to be the most sacred temple in Thailand.

Wat Phra Kaew, said to be the most sacred temple in Thailand.

While we’re on Buddhism, have you seen the Golden Buddha? It’s supposed to weigh at least 5 tons and is the largest golden statue in the world. Just like in the movie, the people of Thailand are serious about their golden Buddha statues.

I just want stand next to it and see how tall I am against LIFE.

I just want stand next to it and see how tall I am against LIFE.

I think I’ve said this before: I am a huge history buff. So when I researched Bangkok tourist sites (its a Google click away with my Dora talents!) and the Grand Palace came up, I was instantly intrigued. I get such a fix from historical royalty. I can’t tell you the amount of times I have researched European royal family trees dating back to….

Alright, alright, I'll change the subject.

Alright, alright, I’ll get to the point.

The Grand Palace was home to the kings of Siam (the then Thailand) from as far back as 1782. I can definitely understand why it was the monarchy’s home. This picture only captures a piece of this majestic site.

The Grand Palace

The Grand Palace

So far, I’ve only listed the day attractions the city has to offer. But I’ve heard stories of what a tourist can get into during a night in Bangkok. Now, I’m no freak (as far as you know) so I doubt this Dora will be ‘exploring’ everywhere. I’ll just stick to my safe curiosities and make sure to run away from any um…unexplained sounds.

But I don't think it's really all that bad. Right?

But I don’t think it’s really all that bad. Right?

If that’s not clear enough for you:

Do’s– The Muay Thai Live Show, Rooftop Bars, Dinner Cruises and Ladyboy Shows (yeah, this Dora is all grown up)

No, no’s– Go-go clubs (but this Dora also likes to be discreet)


Anyone ever been to Bangkok? What do you think? Share your bad/good experiences with me before I go.

Give me your feedback! XD

