Musical Mentions- Song of the Week (April 19-April 25,2015)

musical mention header

Hey music addicts,

I wanted the song of the week to be different from those I featured in the Empire segment I did but I can’t ignore the way this song has ingratiated itself in my head. I think its because it hits close to home; I can definitely relate.

New York Raining-Charles Hamilton feat. Rita Ora

This is the first time I have really listened to Rita Ora. I always thought she was a rhombus of Rihanna. Think about it for a second: a rhombus is a square but not exactly a square. It’s edges are too far out. Look at Rita: doesn’t she look like a second Rihanna but not exactly Rihanna? If she and Jason Derulo (rhombus Chris Brown) got together, I wouldn’t be surprised.

Anyway back to the song. Chris Hamilton came out strong with this one. The piano chords at the beginning and end instantly had me. It was also the cure for my sad funk yesterday AND it features New York, which is possibly my new home. I am in love with it. From Empire to a kickass video, Charles Hamilton is going places. Long live the black Empire.

Give me your feedback! XD

