2015 Reading Challenge- John Dies At the End Is A Cacophony of Weird

Yes, that is a meat monster and not the reincarnation of Lady Gaga. (via rheaven,blogspot.com)

Yes, that is a meat monster and not the reincarnation of Lady Gaga. (via rheaven.blogspot.com)

Hey book lovers!

Challenge: A Book That Became a Movie

In 2012, I saw the movie trailer for John Dies At the End and it piqued my interest. But I wanted to read the book first. Two years and a thesis later, I finally got to read it. WHY LORD, did I do that to myself?

SPOILER-FREE: I don’t think I could describe the plot properly if it wasn’t.


1857440Synopsis: STOP. You should not have touched this flyer with your bare hands. NO, don’t put it down. It’s too late. They’re watching you. My name is David Wong. My best friend is John. Those names are fake. You might want to change yours. You may not want to know about the things you’ll read on these pages, about the sauce, about Korrok, about the invasion, and the future. But it’s too late. You touched the book. You’re in the game. You’re under the eye. The only defense is knowledge. You need to read this book, to the end. Even the part with the bratwurst. Why? You just have to trust me.

The important thing is this: The drug is called Soy Sauce and it gives users a window into another dimension. John and I never had the chance to say no. You still do. I’m sorry to have involved you in this, I really am. But as you read about these terrible events and the very dark epoch the world is about to enter as a result, it is crucial you keep one thing in mind:None of this was my fault.

                                        -Goodreads.com

Review:

If you’ve been reading my blog, semi-reading my blog or just stumbled upon it, read through some of the posts and thought ‘huh, she’s a paranormal fan’, then you would realize that I am a paranormal fan. I like when things get real creepy, real fast and the shockers turn my bones to mesh.

Kinda like that Donald Faison scream in Clueless (via giphy)

Kinda like that Donald Faison scream in Clueless (via giphy)

But I think I met my match with John Dies at the End. The blurb warns you; it does a valiant attempt to warn you but you have to read it because forbidden fruit is the most tempting. Please remember, the author warned us it was going to be messed up. But I’m a little rebel soldier.

This is John and David looking at me like 'yep, you asked for it' (via giphy)

This is John and David looking at me like ‘yep, you asked for it’ (via giphy)

The plot is about two guys, John and David, who fight paranormal evil with a lot of guerrilla warfare, which is a nice way of saying: while they’re winging it. Think of the Ghostbusters without the cool gadgets and the Hollywood conviction. They don’t seek the crazy. Shit just ends up at their doorstep.

And a dog named Molly (via pinterest)

And a dog named Molly (via pinterest)

The book lords over the fact that nothing is ever as it seems. There are some seriously mind-bending revelations, some ‘what the f…?’strange-ass moments that can only be described as a well-written cacophony of weird. This book would make the Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland hiccup  ‘But, why??’ in his tea.

It all started with a drug called soy sauce. You couldn’t have been surprised by that. If you do end up reading this, what else can it be? I’m pretty sure there are people in Amsterdam right now living through a John Dies at the End experience because of some new, experimental weed brownie.

We call it paranormal phenomena, the Amsterdamians call it a nice Friday night (via tumblr)

We call it paranormal phenomena, the Amsterdamians call it a nice Friday night (via tumblr)

And John, lovely John, somehow complements the weird factor.

(via wifflegifs.com)

(via wifflegifs.com)

How do you describe John, David Wong’s best friend in the novel? Well, he’s not the greatest person in the world but he’s there when it counts…and when it doesn’t…and when he happens to be on your couch passed out from drunkeness or a drug high. Either way, he’s there and he’s the only other person who sees the crazy so, he has to help. Plus, he’s hilarious and if you don’t go through this novel smiling, you’ll just end up contemplating the horrors of life.

And the book makes it so easy to do so... (via tumblr)

And the book makes it so easy to do so… (via tumblr)

…I don’t want to relive those memories so I’m cutting this review short. If you still want to read this novel, go right ahead. But, don’t take the movie shortcut. It’s not that fulfilling. Man up. Read the novel for the full experience.

Heh.

Good luck.

4 responses to “2015 Reading Challenge- John Dies At the End Is A Cacophony of Weird

  1. Your mention of “soy sauce” reminds me of a short story I read a very long time ago. It involves tracking down the source a street drug that will shift you into an alternative dimension/parallel universe. The O’Henry twist ending revolves around what happens to the seller/distributor of the drug.

    Like

      • It was many years ago and it was published in a science fiction magazine, possibly Fantastic Stories Magazine (1970s). I wondered if that short story was inspired by Philip K. Dick’s novel, Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said. In it the protagonist’s situation revolves around being unknowingly administered a reality-warping drug called KR-3. He is transported from a reality where he is a worldwide celebrity to one where no one knows who he is .

        Like

      • Ah. So you think that the short story could be a response to the novel. Well I’m interested in the two works. I’ve read a Phillip K. Dick novel and it was thought provoking. Couldn’t put it down. So I’ll give these two a try. In a sense, John Dies at the End pokes fun at the alternate universe plot while staying true to original portrayals. If that makes sense…

        Like

Give me your feedback! XD

