Summer TV ’15 Round-Up: Extant, Under the Dome, Falling Skies

summertvroundup

 

Hey TV addicts,

Summer TV is now officially over. Time to put all our efforts in this year’s Fall TV line up. But before we say our good-byes, I’m going to do a quick recap of the shows which concluded our Summer.

SPOILER ALERT: Click HERE for the list of Summer shows I watch before you spoil your TV appetite.


Falling Skies

Good-bye, Falling Skies! I am going to miss this show and its contribution to TV sci-fi. War is tragic. So, season 5 was intense with new adventures, new feels and unfortunately new deaths in every episode. As the final season, the writers had no time for fillers, introducing new soldiers and even an Espheni Queen. To be fair, I was a little worried about her arrival so late in the season. Would the writers be able to pull off her characterization before the conclusion?

I mean, she's kind of hard to ignore. (via tumblr)

I mean, she’s kind of hard to ignore. (via tumblr)

But I underestimated their Steven Spielberg gift of production. The story behind the queen was portrayed quite well, despite the cave drawings narration. Too much of a fan? Maybe. Even if you weren’t impressed with the back story, you must have felt satisfied with the last scene. The human’s will to survive is a hell of a thing.

I got something in my eye...hold on (via springfield screencaps)

I got something in my eye…hold on. (via springfield screencaps)

Under the Dome

The show was unfortunately cancelled by CBS, which should have been my warning to leave season 3 alone. But I was curious to see how it all played out because I wanted the body snatchers gone, I have a soft spot for Barbie and I believe home-wreckers should get their due. Ava. I’m talking about Ava.

Although not even homewreckers deserve this messy death (via springfield tv screencaps)

Although not even homewreckers deserve this messy death (via springfield tv screencaps)

The ending wasn’t much of a conclusion. I guess the writers got cocky and thought they were coming in for a season four. Now, the town is semi-saved, Barbie has his Julia, Joe’s alive (hey!), Jim is a politician (like ya’ll didn’t see that coming) and Ava’s spawn is on the loose.

Hulu, season 4? (via tumblr)

Hulu, season 4? (via tumblr)

Extant

My my, how Extant has grown. The only reason I gave the show a chance last season was because of black goddess, Halle Berry. Apart from her, the show could have been forgettable. But this season, the writers were determined to let us stay for something other than Halle Berry’s good looks (and the mystery of her missing wrinkles). By mid-season, I was looking forward to a new episode every Wednesday. You done good, writers.

Also, giving us another Halle Berry is smart (via springfield screencaps)

Also, giving us another Halle Berry is smart (via springfield screencaps)

Even when the season finale revealed Taalr was the villain, which has been done many times before (the most harrowing I’d say is 2001 Space Odyssey…the voice still haunts me), I still loved how it was executed. Those murders…damn Taalr, you are one AI beast.

Serial killer, your name is Taalr (via springfield tv screencaps)

Serial killer, your name is Taalr (via springfield tv screencaps)

But he was defeated right?

Taalr? (via springfield screencaps)

Taalr? (via springfield screencaps)

Oh shit.


Extant Season 3 returns in 2016.

 

Give me your feedback! XD

