Musical Mentions-Song of the Week (Gimme All Your Love)

alabama-shakes

Alabama Shakes (via blondieandthebeat.com)

Hey music lovers,

I recently saw and shared an meme on my Facebook page that states, “If the love don’t feel like 90s R&B, I don’t want it,” which is completely valid. The meme wasn’t talking about love. Anyone can write a love song. But can you express the passion?

Which leads me to Alabama Shakes.

Alabama Shakes-Gimme All Your Love

Everyone knows that before R&B and Soul, Jazz and Blues were the OGs of passionate love. No one, and I mean no one, can tell a Blues singer that the love and heartbreak he/she is singing about was fake. Nina Simone, Blues extraordinaire, could make a man feel wanted or inadequate at the drop of a hat.

So you know the lead singer and guitarist of the band, Brittney Howard, NEEDS her man’s love when her chords are exploding on that track. If you aren’t feeling that kind of need in your heart strings as well, call your doctor. Something ain’t right with you. She doesn’t just beg, she begs with everything going on in her life.

Yep, the Blues rock genre gets my vote of thanks.

Go have a listen. It was featured on USA’s Suits and they don’t joke around with music.

One response to “Musical Mentions-Song of the Week (Gimme All Your Love)

  1. I do think this track is great but I just wished they had made an album that was reminiscent of that one great tune. I recently wrote a review on their album. Check it out on my blog.

    Like

Give me your feedback! XD

