TV Hotspot Feature-The Muppets? Yes! Scream Queens? Well…

Picture1

Hey TV addicts,

I was so excited about Scream Queens and The Muppets double premiere package. Remember the last post I wrote about dumping The Vampire Diaries for these two new shows? Maybe I was a little too excited because Scream Queens had a rocky start.

SPOILERS


Scream Queens

First, let’s talk about Scream Queens.

scream-queens-poster-pink-1024x885

I rarely touch base with comedy-horrors. My first venture into it was probably a Scary Movie film, then I watched the great Rocky Horror Picture Show and my last experience with the genre was reading the novel John Dies At the End.  So, call me dumb but I’m pretty sure there is supposed to be a balance between horror and humor.

One of the creators, Brad Falchuck, also produces American Horror Story so I knew the horror would come in the bucket loads. The show didn’t disappoint. Like when Chanel pushed the maid’s face in the boiling frying container and the maid peels the skin off her face…

200

But aside from Chad Radwell’s golf ball hitting a boy right in the nuts and Chanel #2 texting the villain to stop killing her, the humor felt a little flat and forced.

GIF-Conceding-Lumbergh-Office-Office-Space-OK-Ok-then-Uh-yeah-Umm-Well-then-GIF

It was like the writers originally thought of a horror show but at the eleventh hour, decided to make it into a comedy-horror show instead and just threw in a bunch of cheesy dialogue before sending it in.

But by the second episode, the show was finally becoming what I had expected. The Heathers-esque quality that the cast and crew had gushed about was evolving before my eyes. I found myself now smiling at the 80s/90s background music and warming up to the (eventual) dark humor and the pea-brain stupidity of the sorority members.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Zayday’s black comedy lines got better.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

And Chad is becoming a favourite of mine.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Oh shit, they brought back the gay sorority boy. The suspense is real!

Because gay lives matter, guys (via tumblr)

Because gay lives matter, guys (via tumblr)

I’m just going to believe it got good when Denise was introduced.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

The Muppets

Earlier in the week this so-called family values group, One Million Moms, urged ABC–through a signed petition–to cancel the airing of The Muppets because they deemed it un-watchable for kids. To which I laughed tremendously loud. You have shows like Scandal running around and you’re worried about The Muppets hinting at some kind of innuendo?

Seriously? -_- (via nydailynews.com)

Seriously? -_- (via nydailynews.com)

ABC, the creators of the show and the promotions all stated that this was for adult viewers. In other words, ‘family values’ groups, this show is for the people who grew up with the Muppets. Not the kids who watch Big Bird on Sesame Street every day after elementary school. So, tell your kids to go to bed and stop ruining my entertainment.

 (via giphy.com)

(via giphy.com)

The premiere was solid. I laughed, I chuckled, I frowned at the Ms. Piggy and Kermit break-up scene and I thought a half an hour just wasn’t enough for my re-imagined childhood characters.

!!! (via tumblr)

!!! (via tumblr)

This show has a lot of potential and I’m looking forward to so much more. Thanks, ABC.

Give me your feedback! XD

