Musical Mentions-Sam Smith’s Writings On The Wall Is Not Bond Song Material

(via popglitz.com)

(via popglitz.com)

Hey music lovers,

Spectre, the latest James Bond movie, is premiering in theatres on November 6. But we’re here to discuss the second important part of any Bond movie: the theme song. Sam Smith bravely took on the monumental role and I’m sorry to say I’m not pleased.


A James Bond song is different from any other song in life.

I should know. Ever since I went on that MASSIVE James Bond binge-fest back in 2013. I can now say that I am die-hard Bond fan, with some of the most popular Bond theme songs on my playlist. If you still need confirmation, I know that Dr. No was the first movie made in 1963, James Bond was married only once…for like ten minutes, no favourite movie but my favourite Bond was Pierce Brosnan although Sean Connery was the best and my favourite Bond theme song is Tomorrow Never Dies 

90s fan, so you had to know this was coming (via actionelite.com)

90s fan, so you had to know this was coming (via actionelite.com)

So, although the trailers for Spectre haven’t really evoked my enthusiasm, I know I must watch it because its James freaking Bond and the franchise is iconic, going on for more than 40 years. Homage must be paid.

(via reactiongifs)

(via reactiongifs)

With that being said, you can’t just choose a popular artist of the day, give him any song and believe that a James Bond-esque vibe will magically pop out of nowhere. Nooo. That’s not how it works.

(via imagur.com)

(via imagur.com)

It brings me back to the Quantum of Solace theme song, Another Way to Die, with Alicia Keys and Jack White from the White Stripes. Now, I love me some Alicia Keys. She is one my favourite R&B artists and I know she tried– bless her soul–she tried. There were some gutsy beats but I could not like that song on a whole no matter how much I pressed repeat.

I really tried, Alicia! (via plasmapool.org)

I really tried, Alicia! (via plasmapool.org)

You have to be careful when it comes to choosing a Bond theme song. Sam Smith is a great artist and I was lauding him the other day for his work with Disclosure. The man can sing his heart out but the song wasn’t giving me the James Bond feels that I would get in the opening credits, setting the theme for the entire movie.

This is the aim for a Bond song, people! (via gifsgallery)

This is the aim for a Bond song, people! (via gifsgallery)

Think I’m exaggerating? Have a listen.

I suck at the jargon but in layman’s terms, there were no rising, crescendo beats which robbed you of air. The tone of the song conveyed a vague meaning behind Spectre, when usually these songs always hint on some idiosyncrasies of the movies. The rhythm is slow, which is usual for Bond songs, but it was also   tepid and not in the least dramatic. Bond songs bank on the most dramatic way to portray the movie’s theme.

I’ve heard other artistes, including Lana del Rey, were suggested for the role. I prefer Lana or Florence + The Machine but I’m sure with a better song, Sam Smith probably would have killed it.

Better luck next time, Bond fans.

Give me your feedback! XD

