Bibliophilia-The Martian Is Jargon Done Right

Matt Damon in The Martian (via youtube)

Matt Damon in The Martian (via youtube)

Hey book lovers,

Before I could even consider watching The Martian in theatres, I had to find out why the great director, Ridley Scott, decided to invest in such a story. The result had me smiling from ear to ear.

SPOILER-FREE REVIEW


Synopsis

18007564Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him & forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded & completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—& even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive. Chances are, though, he won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first. But Mark isn’t ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills—& a relentless, dogged refusal to quit—he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. Will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

–Goodread.com

Review

Jargon and novels usually never mix well. In fact, jargon and any kind of literature designed for the masses is usually frowned upon. If people don’t understand it, they won’t be interested. But Andy Weir managed to masterfully weave jargon into a–most times–first person narration, leaving an audience captivated with every turn of the page.

In other words, Andy Weir is a sorcerer.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

I never knew space lingo could be so fun! I mean, don’t get me wrong, there were times when I kind of glazed over some words. Hey, sorcery can’t always be perfect and I’m really bad at maths.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

But at least it didn’t read like a NASA manual. There was a perfect balance of intellect, humor and heart from Mark Watney, his spacemates and the NASA team that drove away the drudgery of jargon. Especially, Mark! The man was brilliant and brilliantly hilarious.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

 So, I didn’t have to channel the gang from The Big Bang Theory to really enjoy the novel.

Although my geek mode looks like this (via tumblr)

Although my geek mode looks like this (via giphy)

Andy Weir’s work is not only for the space nerds but for anyone who just wants to enjoy a good read. Heck, I would recommend it to my grandma who probably believed space exploration is a government cover-up.

Hogwash, really (via giphy)

Hogwash, really (via giphy)

I honestly have nothing negative to say about this novel. The writing was excellent. The characters were all lovable. The plotline was heartwarming and taught us the full extent of human survival and supporting your fellow man. Because who doesn’t want to be happy for humanity?

(via giphy)

(via giphy)

 But I do want Anna Montrose’s job. NASA, if you need another publicist, hit me up! I will gladly take the helm.

We also need not worry about the movie adaptation. Ridley Scott took great care to make sure Mark Watney and the NASA team are as fantastic as they are in the novel. A fitting conclusion was even added. Thumbs up for me!

Rating: 10/10

Give me your feedback! XD

