TV Hotspot Feature-Jessica Jones is Exactly What Marvel TV Needed

Jessica Jones and her crew (via etonline.com)

Jessica Jones and her crew (via etonline.com)

Hey TV addicts,

I recently made a post declaring that DC heroes make for better television than Marvel’s heroes. Then I watched Jessica Jones. Not only was I completely floored by how damn intriguing every minute was, I thought that this was exactly what Marvel needed to fully propel themselves into TV land. Let me gush all about it.

SPOILER-FREE: I’m going to give you all a chance since it just came out.


I had been all set to go on the Marvel/Netflix train for Daredevil but after one episode in, I couldn’t muster up the enthusiasm for 12 more episodes. No fault on Marvel/Netflix. I think it was just me. It didn’t take and I’ve never been much of a Daredevil fan. But I’m considering giving it a second look-see because in Jessica Jones there have been…

Connections, Connections, Connections

Superhero fans appreciate connectivity, nods and mentions to other heroes. A little dramatic irony that makes us smile. Jessica Jones had enough of it to give us some groundwork on the next major project in the Marvel/Netflix scheme: Luke Cage. The show also gave us an adequate taste of Hellcat (Trish Walker) and Nuke (Will Simpson). Shoutout to Trish Walker by the way. Her superhero complex is growing nicely.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

But any show can give you connections. Then I’d still be watching Daredevil. What makes Jessica Jones different?

Not Just Another Superhero Show

Forget costumes, clean dialogue and action sequences. Jessica Jones give us a fresh dose of reality mixed in with all that mutant drama. She’s not some overly enthusiastic girl always looking into the light, hoping to save humanity. Ever since she was teenager, she has had a survivalist journey. I would be stupid to say that I identified with half of what she went through but I’m sure many in this world have. They know what’s like to be broken.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

But broken doesn’t mean unfixable. Through her hardships, Jessica has made a name for herself in the hero world and the P.I. world. She may not be recognizable with a costume and almost bursting need to bring hope to humanity but she’s got a good heart and will save those she cares about the most.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

David Tennant’s Brilliancy as Kilgrave

Her sometimes hero complex really comes forth when she’s battling Kilgrave. I must admit that David Tennant taking on the role was 100% 80% of the reason I decided to watch Jessica Jones.  I read an article that declared Kilgrave as Marvel’s most terrifying villain in the cinema-verse so far. And I certainly agree. Kilgrave is not only terrifying, he’s charmingly terrifying. There are times when you just love him in a scene, you can’t blame Jessica for not killing him already.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

I’m not sure if he was ever that charming in the comic books but I don’t care. David Tennant breathed his insanely British, brilliant acting into that character and brought out a level sophistication, humor, quick-mindedness, and a snapped tendency to violence that makes him a true villain.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Can’t Forget the Little People

Jessica Jones not only makes connections with other heroes in the show but also ordinary people that somehow find themselves tied to her almost intricately. Jeri Hogarth who has been mentioned in the Marvel comics (as a man) is a bulldog and an asset when Jessica needs to veer off the law books now and again. Also, watch the junkie Malcolm. You never know how his life might change because Jessica. Sometimes, the little people go a long way.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Jessica Jones season 2 will return in 2016.

 

Give me your feedback! XD

