Movie Moments-BatmanVs.Superman, Why Isn’t Lex Bald? And Other Concerns

That you, Lex? (via slumz.boxden.com)

That you, Lex? (via slumz.boxden.com)

Hey movie lovers,

The Marvel/DC battle is fierce for this month! We’re on the verge of 2016/17 being  GREAT years for the DC and Marvel superheroes from as early as January. I cannot wait! But let me get specific for a bit. The new trailer for Batman v. Superman came out recently and as a huger huge fan of DC, I was obligated to watch it. My feelings about it? Very mixed.


As a huger huge fan of DC, I tend to be more critical of their material. I like to compare my criticism to that of a teacher testing the smart kid harder than the rest of the class. DC movies always have the potential to do better. The 1978 Superman,  the 1989 Batman, Batman Begins and The Dark Knight are great examples of this potential.

So when the company proposed a Batman/Superman showdown, which will ultimately lead to a Justice League movie, I was so ready, my ready was ready!

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

But I was also nervous. Man of Steel was okay but it wasn’t that great. Henry Cavill’s body was good save, to be honest. I wasn’t feeling the third installment of The Dark Night trilogy. Then, it was revealed that Ben Affleck, of all people, would be Bruce Wayne. Yep, I–like the rest of the DC fanbase–is a bundle of nerves.

The new trailer has helped to alleviate some of my nerves (Hey, Wonder Woman!!) but not all of them.

I think my biggest concern was: where in the hell is Lex Luthor’s baldness? To be fair, this is an origin storyline so maybe his hair loss will happen by the time the Justice League is formed. But for now, with hair, Lex Luthor just looks like a wimpy fan boy playing with things he shouldn’t.

He could break in two by just their looks (via tumblr)

He could break in two by just their looks (via tumblr)

Although, he’s got a mouth on him. Every time I see Eisenberg in this role, I keep picturing Mark Zuckerberg from The Social Network if he was an ultimately cruel billionaire.

The synopsis of The Social Network (via tumblr)

The synopsis of The Social Network. (via tumblr)

My next concern was Ben Affleck as Bruce Wayne. Surprisingly, I’m not ranting in fan girl rage. He does brooding Bruce Wayne really well.  From what we’ve heard about plot, he’s an old jaded brooder and those emotions were quite palpable on screen. I’m not going to give Affleck a resounding A+ yet, but he should know we’re all watching him carefully…with notepads.

One false move. We will see (via tumblr)

One false move. We will see. (via tumblr)

Doomsday is a little on the small side.

Growing pup, maybe? (via tumblr)

Growing pup, maybe? (via tumblr)

But Henry Cavill’s Clark Kent is still adorably nerdy.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Then there’s this mama.

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Wonder Woman’s entrance was nothing short of epic and has led me to believe that when it counts, DC/WB will evolve into Michael Bay once more and give us the action sequences we need. But spot-on characterization and hero-hero dynamics is still so, so crucial and they have nailed it in the TV shows. I’m hoping those elements will transfer to the big screen.

Fingers crossed for the Justice League beginnings! (via tumblr)

Fingers crossed for the Justice League beginnings! (via tumblr)

Give me your feedback! XD

