Movie Moments-Star Wars Episode VII Came and Blew Us Away

(viafuriousfanboys.com)

(viafuriousfanboys.com)

Hey movie lovers,

Have you watched Star Wars Episode VII yet? I don’t what you are waiting for but I know I must talk about it and its HUGE revelation. Sorry, people. Spoilers are coming.


We have been waiting for at least two years for Episode VII and now the wait is finally over. Star Wars Episode VII dropped on December 18th and the world has gone insane over its release. As of now, Star Wars Episode VII has smashed Avatar’s box office numbers and now holds the record for the biggest box office numbers in movie history.

yay-o

But numbers are just numbers. Was it worth it? Was my fan-girl shirt worth the money I spent?

Yes. So much yes. But it didn’t start that way. Here are my comments.

Started off a little slow. I don’t know why but I thought once it started and the opening story credits finally came off the screen, Michael Bay-like explosions would occur and I would be clutching my heart for 2-3 hours.

Me and my popcorn (via giphy)

Me and my popcorn (via giphy)

But no, we had to meet the new characters. We first meet Poe, an accomplished pilot from the rebel alliance who is acquiring a piece of a map which provides the location of Luke Skywalker who is their only hope to defeat the new baddies, The First Order. Like Yoda back in the day, Luke is now the last of the Jedi Knights. Fitting.

Even his beard became epic (via tumblr)

Even his beard became epic (via tumblr)

Anyway, The First Order is also tracking Luke down and they, along with the Stormtroopers, burn the village where Poe is getting his intelligence. This is where we meet Finn, who is a Stormtrooper with a conscience I suppose. Seeing attacks from a Stormtrooper’s point of view was really awkward. Once he stripped off his uniform, I felt more comfortable. Blame the fan-girl in me.

Now we're talking (via tumblr)

Now we’re talking (via tumblr)

Rey lives alone on a desert planet. Sound familiar? But unlike Luke’s time on Tatooine, her screen time on the planet was a bit dragging. I’m being nitpick-y, I know. But I couldn’t have been the only one comparing the two experiences.

But the slow start diminished once Rey met Finn. It was soon forgotten when they met Han Solo and Chewie. Then all I did was let my guard down, sink into my seat and enjoy the ride.

Wheeee! (via tumblr)

Wheeee! (via tumblr)

What a messed up family tree. It was already bad with Luke having to fight his father in The Empire Strikes Back. Why did they have to repeat the story line (sorta) in The Force Awakens? It is just tragic that Han Solo and Princess Leia’s son is one of the bad guys from The First Order. But it is completely dumb that he’s trying to channel his grandfather’s dark force rage.

(via reactiongifs)

(via reactiongifs)

Kylo Ren, sir, did Luke not tell you the entire story? Anakin helped his son defeat the Sith leader so what are you channeling little boy? Coming around here, toting some mask and killing Han Solo, your own father. I’m not here for your life. Rey should have finished him.

(via giphy)

(via tumblr)

30 years but Han Solo and Leia chemistry is still on point! I was giddily smiling throughout their banter. Not even a son couldn’t change that love/hate. That last hug between them was so moving.

OTP! (via tumblr)

OTP! (via tumblr)

Which leads me to…

Is there anyway Luke used the Force to save Han Solo? This is just for my fan-girl dreams. I know Harrison Ford doesn’t love his Han Solo counterpart and the death was probably why he signed on in the first place. We will agree to disagree Mr. Ford. Han Solo is fantastic and was a bad boy ’till the end. The very, very end?

(via giphy)

(via giphy)

The million dollar question. Maybe I missed a few points in the plot but if Luke didn’t want to be found, why does R2D2 have a map with his location? Remember he was training some children to be the next Jedi knights and one went rogue (Kylo Ren, obviously) and he just ran off because he didn’t want to be part of the next Yoda/Anakin team. So…why does R2D2 have a map?

(via giphy)

(via giphy)

In the flashback Rey had, it seemed The First Order cornered Luke and he had to run away, leaving R2D2 with his location. Fan theories, fan theories. What do you think?

Rey...Skywalker??! (via tumblr)

Rey…Skywalker??! (via tumblr)


Kudos to the actors Daisy Ridley, John Boyega and Oscar Isaac for creating the next fantastic trio of this new franchise. I look forward to Rey and Chewie’s shenanigans, Finn’s revival and more stunning air stunts from Poe.

Itching for the next release!

Give me your feedback! XD

