Bibliophilia-The Age of X Series Is Playing Games With My Head

(via goodreads.com)

Gameboard of the Gods, the first book in the Age of X series. (via goodreads.com)

Hey book lovers,

Richelle Mead has regained a fan! It’s been a while since I’ve read a Richelle Mead book but so far I have not regretted my decision to get into the Age of X series. Especially when she revealed that last twist! Let me gush…

SPOILER REVIEW


Synopses

13477883In a futuristic world nearly destroyed by religious extremists, Justin March lives in exile after failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims. But Justin is given a second chance when Mae Koskinen comes to bring him back to the Republic of United North America (RUNA). Raised in an aristocratic caste, Mae is now a member of the military’s most elite and terrifying tier, a soldier with enhanced reflexes and skills…(More via Goodreads)

 

16156357Gameboard of the Gods introduced religious investigator Justin March and Mae Koskinen, the beautiful supersoldier assigned to protect him…Their mission takes a new twist when they are assigned to a diplomatic delegation headed by Lucian Darling, Justin’s old friend and rival, going into Arcadia, the RUNA’s dangerous neighboring country. Here, in a society where women are commodities and religion is intertwined with government, Justin discovers powerful forces at work, even as he struggles to come to terms with his own reluctantly acquired deity… (More via Goodreads)

Review

I was one of those tween fans of Vampire Academy back in the day and I also ventured into a number of her adult books. But after starting Bloodlines, I kind of lost the Richelle Mead fever.

Low Point: Maybe that’s why it took a while for Gameboard of the Gods to grow on me. I’m as much of a Greek mythology fan as the next one but this concept of a futuristic world mixed with ancient Greek deities threw me off.

Togas in the future?? (via rantchic.com)

Togas in the future?? (via rantchic.com)

Don’t get me wrong: the originality was spot on but for some reason, I couldn’t get it to reconcile with my scifi/futuristic imagination.

(via giphy)

(via giphy)

High Point: Eventually, it grew on me. Like Justin and Mae’s relationship, I began to regain trust in Richelle Mead’s writing style once more. I was soon wrapped up in the story. From the time that they both discover the real power of the gods in Gameboard of the Gods, to the point where Mae is forced to brave the tropical forests with little kidnapped girls in tow in The Immortal Crown. Mae reminded me of Athena. Everyone loves a fiery heroine with godlike powers.

(via charmed.wikia)

(via charmed.wikia)

And just when we think we were getting a happy (er…happy enough) ending in the sequel, Mae suddenly has a strange encounter with someone who disguised himself as Justin, who actually turns out to be her dead ex-boyfriend!

(via tumblr)

NO. SHIT. (via tumblr)

I am still reeling from that reveal. Richelle Mead, I’m sure you got us ALL with that one!

The next book in the series, The Eye of Andromeda is coming soon.

 

 

Give me your feedback! XD

