TV Hotspot Feature-Sherlock/Doctor Who Holiday Specials In Five Points or Less

Sherlock and Watson from the Abominable Snowman (via Masterpiece Theatre)

Sherlock and Watson from the Abominable Snowman (via Masterpiece Theatre)

Hey TV addicts!

Now that the New Year’s celebrations are over and we are all back on our normal trek through life, I thought it fitting to reminisce on what Christmas ’15/New Year ’16 had to offer us, which was in the delicious bundle of Doctor Who and Sherlock specials. Let’s talk about them!

SPOILERS ALERT: You have been warned.


  1. Bye, Bye Sweeties

The Doctor Who Christmas Special, The Husbands of River Song came on the heels of the tragic death…and eventual re-death (?) of Clara. I don’t know why but I feel like one day, we’ll meet Clara again. Let me believe it!

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

So, when I found out that River Song was going to be featured in last year’s Christmas special, I was all smiles. Only River will help to heal our Clara wound. The special went on swimmingly. River didn’t even recognize her own husband but she still defended the life out of him and we were all feeling the emotion. Especially when she turned to look at her husband and he said her favourite line.

*swoon* (via tumblr)

*swoon* (via tumblr)

The Doctor and River’s love saga continues to undo me. And when it came time for Dr. Song to have her last moments (24 days to be exact) with the Doctor, which if you remember, she recalled for Doctor Ten during the [library] episode, I found myself still undoing.

Undone! (via tumblr)

Undone! (via tumblr)

We love you, Clara and River.  Here’s to your stories.

2. The Sherlock Inception

I am not ashamed to say that I was a little confused by the plot. This is quite natural if you’re just a normal dumb-dumb like me who doesn’t watch the show to prove her intellect but to just enjoy Sherlock in his motions.

Like falling down a waterfall. Live the dream, Sherlock (via tumblr)

Like falling down a waterfall. Live the dream, Sherlock (via tumblr)

So, when Sherlock takes drugs he becomes Leonardo Di Caprio in Inception. Hm. Makes a lot of sense considering his mind palace is spectacularly vast. Ghosts, a secret feminist organization (right on sisters!) and an immensely overweight Myrcoft, oh my! The 19th century alternate universe of Sherlock got real crazy, real fast. Then we find out it was just a dream. Wait. What?

Sherlock, why? (via tumblr)

Sherlock, why? (via tumblr)

Oh, right. Sherlock takes drugs. I guess I should have seen that coming but it was the 19th century and Watson was wearing a moustache. It was easy to ignore the obvious. Sidenote: I actually like 19th century Watson. Apart from the sheer ignorance to his wife’s sleuthing capabilities, the man’s as sharp as Sherlock.

The moustache power is fierce (via tumblr)

And the moustache power is fierce (via tumblr)

The writers took a lot of liberties with this story though, apart from the Inception undertaking. For example, Mycoft meeting Sherlock in his mind palace was beyond great acting. I approve of this roller coaster.

Moriarty. I see you're as crazed as usual (via tumblr)

Moriarty. I see you’re as crazed as usual (via tumblr)

3. What’s Next for These Two Heroes?

Well, word on the street is that Doctor Who season 10 is Peter Capaldi’s last season. Is this the end of Doctor Twelve? Gosh, I hope not. I’ve warmed up to his ‘un-warmable’ self. Until then, we’ll just have to satisfy with spoilers on who will take on the mantle of The Doctor’s companion. To be honest, a man would be nice.

 

Give me your feedback! XD

