TV Hotspot Shorts- #OscarsSoWhite Rears Its Ugly Head Once More

Jada Pinkett Smith boycotting the Oscars (via vibe.com)

Jada Pinkett Smith boycotting the Oscars (via vibe.com)

Hey TV addicts,

I told you last year that I don’t watch award shows. They are long and uninteresting more than half the time. But today (Martin Luther King Jr. Day), my interest perked when I heard that actress/queen, Jada Pinkett Smith, released a video where she states that she was boycotting the Oscars because the nominations weren’t diverse. Then, Spike Lee, forever for the black man cause, jumped on the boycotting wagon.

Fight the power. (via giphy)

Fight the power. (via giphy)

Here’s the video below:

<iframe src=”http://content.jwplatform.com/players/khkZwZyK-eYeqn6QF.html&#8221; width=”480″ height=”270″ frameborder=”0″ scrolling=”auto”>

I have seen the list of nominations and it’s true. The diversity is hardly there. So, I’m not against the boycott. I thought Black Twitter had voiced their displeasure successfully last time. Hollywood is already enmeshing themselves into diverse showbiz, so Oscars’ committee, what are you trying to prove?

(via tumblr)

(via tumblr)

Now, I’m not saying that these nominated actors/shows aren’t worthy of their nominations. I have seen some of these movies and the acting was superb (I see you, DiCaprio). I’m not even saying that we should put sub-par nominations to fill a diverse quota. But as a pop-culture enthusiast, I can easily recognize the diverse talent out there.

Jada Pinkett Smith was probably talking about her husband’s Oscar snub. And frankly, she has a right to. Will Smith’s acting is a beautiful thing to see. But it doesn’t matter. She still raises a good point. The non-diverse trend needs to stop now. The Emmys and the Golden Globes got it right. Oscars, it’s your time.

(via giphy)

(via giphy)

Give me your feedback! XD

